Review: J.R. Ward – Covet

Beschrijving
(Er is nog geen Nederlandse beschrijving van dit boek)
Redemption isn’t a word Jim Heron knows much about-his specialty is revenge, and to him, sin is all relative. But everything changes when he becomes a fallen angel and is charged with saving the souls of seven people from the seven deadly sins. And failure is not an option.

Vin DiPietro long ago sold his soul to his business, and he’s good with that-until fate intervenes in the form of a tough-talking, Harley-riding, self-professed savior. And then he meets a woman who will make him question his destiny, his sanity, and his heart-and he has to work with a fallen angel to win her over and redeem his own soul.

Mijn gedachten over het boek:
Via een vriendin heb ik de boeken van J.R. Ward ontdekt. Na het lezen van de Black Dagger Brotherhood serie die ik echt te gek vind, dacht ik, ik bestel het eerste boek uit de andere serie van deze schrijfster.

Het boek speelt zich net als de BDB serie af in Cadwell bij New York. Een aantal bekende plekken en zelfs namen komen voorbij vanuit de BDB serie, maar voor de rest is het een ander soort boek. Dit keer gaat het niet over Vampiers, die komen in het boek niet voor.

Het boek gaat over de strijd tussen engelen en demonen. Om deze strijd te laten beslissen is er iemand uitgekozen, Jim. Hij wordt een gevallen engel en moet zeven zielen gaan redden van de zeven doodszonden. Dit eerste boek gaat over hebzucht. Vin heeft daar last van en Jim moet hem gaan redden. Hij wordt tegen gewerkt door een demon en krijgt hulp van nog twee gevallen engelen. Hoe verder in het boek hoe meer het voor Jim duidelijk wordt en voor mij als lezer hoe het werkt en wie aan zijn kant of juist niet staat.

Het verhaal is prettig geschreven en leest lekker weg. Het is niet zo verslavend als de BDB serie, maar nog steeds erg goed. Ik heb de volgende twee boeken van deze serie op mijn verlanglijstje gezet, maar ik kan er nog wel even op wachten om te lezen hoe het verder gaat met Jim. Terwijl ik bij de BDB serie niet kan wachten tot het volgende boek uit is en ik het kan lezen.

Synopsis
See above.

My thoughts:
Thanks to a friend I discovered J.R. Ward and her books. After reading the Black Dagger Brotherhood series which I am in love with, I thought I order the first book from her other series she writes.

This book is situated just like the BDB series in Cadwell, New York. A few known places and names from the BDB series are in this book too. But it isn’t like the BDB series at all. This time it is not about Vampires, they are not even in the book. It is about (fallen) angels and demons. These two groups are opposite to each other and to decide who from them is the winner, they choose a person to settle that and that person is Jim.

Jim becomes a fallen angel and has to save seven souls from the seven deadly sins. This first book is about covet. Vin has to be rescued by Jim because of this. Jim is being helped by two other fallen angels and a demon is against him. But the identity of these persons Jim founds out way further in the book, just like me the reader.

The book is really nice to read. I didn’t get as addicted as I got with the BDB series, but I think it is pretty good. I did put the two other books from this series on my wishing list. But I can wait till I get them, while with the BDB I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book and read it.

X Cin

 

2 thoughts on “Review: J.R. Ward – Covet

  1. I’m still reading this. I have three books that I’m reading now and this seems to be the slowest. It’s ok but not as great as BDB. I’m also reading Lover mine.

    • I know what you mean, it is ok, but not as good as BDB. I did order the two other books from this series though. Hopefully they are nice too.

      I already finished lover mine and I am waiting for her newest book to come out in the same format as the books I have in the BDB series already. Hope that will happen soon.

Comments are closed.